monday morning encouragement: things aren’t always black & white


I’ve learned a lot about myself this year. Learned a lot about people too.

I’ve learned that the way you were raised shapes the core of who you are, & sometimes that is completely unchangable. 

I’ve learned that you can’t change the way other people see or views things no matter how much you wish you could.

I’ve learned that I’m not like most people my age no matter how much I want to be. 

I’ve learned that because of that I’m in this middle ground of not wanting to be where I was, but not knowing if I like where I’m heading either.

There’s so much in life to figure out & things aren’t always black & white. 

It’s never just do this or don’t do that. It’s never just left or right. There’s a whole mess of things that factor into everything. 

Nothing is as it seems, & nothing but time can help you to tell what is true.

So be patient. Try not to react too quickly. Tomorrow can be better. And so can the day after that.

Courage, dear heart, for this is not the end. You have many days ahead of you & many more things to work through in life.

Just take it all one day at a time. Black or white or yellow or grey, it doesn’t matter. You’ll find the color that best suits you & it will all work out in the end. Find the colors because things aren’t always black & white, & I hear life in color is a brighter way to live.

— abbey kay

*brought to you by a girl who is trying to see the in betweens 

Leave a Reply

