beauty talks: conturing make-up

Let’s talk about the latest craze on Pinterest lately, conturing make-up. You’ve all seen the pics of girl with the tribal looking make-up all over her face & you’ve just sat their confused as to what was going on. Or you’re the one who is in awe of the before & after pics you’ve seen & you wondered if this photoshop make-up bliss could be real. Well ladies, I was in the same boat. I first learned about conturing make-up on Pinterest by seeing the above linked pins. I was disbelief. I never knew or even thought to think that make-up could be used to sculpt your face & make it appear thinner & longer. Face palm, cause that’s cheapest & easiest plastic surgery around. Just kidding, but it seriously does the same trick. So I searched pins high & low to find out about the best products to use & how exactly to do it. I watched one YouTube video on it (I don’t remember which one or else I’d link it) & after that I was ready to try it out for myself. And I thought what the heck? Let’s share my contouring journey with my readers since I’m sure they’ve just as interested in it as I am! So let’s go, here’s how I contour & some tips I’ve learned about it along the way!

20140115-142310.jpg

So here’s one of my everyday basic make-up looks before conturing. You can find out how I do it & the products I use, here. All my make-up is done, except no blush or bronzer & I just have basic powder foundation on. The trick to contouring is taking a lighter tone of make-up to highlight certain features on your face & a darker tone of make-up to bring out or sculpt other areas of your face.

20140115-143135.jpg

First step is highlighting. I use the L’OREAL PARIS true match super-blendable crayon concealer in fair/light. You want a color that is 1/2 shades lighter than your skin tone. You apply it down the center of the nose, the forehead, under the eyes, & under the cheek bone across the jawline. This crayon works great for spreading the product & getting it exactly where you want it to go. Your face should now look like this…

20140115-143637.jpg

Sweet. Stay there. Now onto the sculpting part of conturing with the darker tone.

20140115-144138.jpg

For this part I use the L’OREAL PARIS true match super-blendable crayon concealer in medium/deep. This one is 1-2 tones darkerthan your skin tone. You apply this color around the edge of your hairline from temple to temple, the outline of your nose, across the cheek bone, & just barely under the jawline. You should look real tribal like this!

20140115-144514.jpg

Looks great, I know. But here comes the best part, blending!

20140115-144622.jpg

I like to use this little spongey pointed ball. I forget the name but I got it for like 4 bucks at Ulta & it works great. The shape helps to get into the corners of my eyes & lets me use the one sponge for both shades since it had the two identical ends. You can dab or rub/smear to blend the make-up in. I do a little bit of both. And it takes some work, but it eventually blends & looks flawless.

20140115-145006.jpg
20140115-145246.jpg

I’ve been using this NYX matte bronzer in Medium & some brushes to fine tune what the crayon does. I just dab a little over the cheeks with a blush brush, & use an old eyeshadow brush to re-define the line along my nose. And a little on my neck too just cause all the pictures say too okay!

20140115-145702.jpg

20140115-145710.jpg

Then I’ll take this NYX Mineral “Set It & Don’t Fret It” Matte Finishing Powder in Medium/Dark & lighting brush it all over my face. It just blends & sets the whole deal. After that you’re all done! I normally re/touch up my eye make-up after this point. Redo the liner, add some mascara, curl the eyelashes, & go over the brows just to define the look a bit more. And add tinted lip balm. Then I’m done!

20140115-150145.jpg

Let’s compare!

20140115-150220.jpg

I’m still not a pro at it & I’m constantly trying it out in different ways. But you can tell that it makes a difference! Crazy, huh? It really only takes about 2 extra minutes to do it & you probably don’t need as much highlighter as I put on. I was just showing y’all for effect. But try it out! It’s easy & cheap to do! I’ve been doing it everyday since I bought my products & I love the difference it makes. I wouldn’t do my make-up routine without it anymore, especially since I take my outfit pictures everyday. But you could just do it for special events or weekends. I love it & challenge you to try it out! You won’t be disappointed ladies.

β€”abbey kay

Leave a Reply

